The Brand “DoMS-NITT”

DoMS is among the oldest B schools in India. It was started way back in 1978 as M.E programme in Management which transformed itself into M.B.A in 1982. This is the only programme among the NITs, which is funded by the Ministry of H.R.D. Let me don the teachers’ role, change my tone, and share this with you that in the early 90’s the industry was in need of industrial managers more than managers with varied specialities because our country was dominated by mechanical industries. Also those were the times when the software bug had not bitten India and hence the stress for M.E programme during the stages of inception. So right now an inquisitive person or rather a pagalguy inside me is screaming aloud “Arey pagal come to the point I want to know more about DoMS” .. DoMS is “The most fun and merry churning” place I have found till date. The friends @ DoMS-NITT that God has showered upon me are one of my greatest assets. They are fantastic, lively, diverse, outstanding.. maybe my mental dictionary is short of words and I will have to search for some more adjectives. I am ecstatic to see such gems amongst us.

DoMS offers us unlimited scoops of ice creams in a single cone. The single cone is MBA @ DoMS-NITT. So what are the scoops? One of them is the kind of people we get to meet @DoMS. We have budding managers from north to south and east to west. We have people from engineering, commerce, arts and yes we do have an inhouse physiotherapist and pharmacists too oops!! they are our batch mates. But let me declare that while we are diverse in backgrounds, divided and separated by physical boundaries, our spirit is one. Another scoop is the kind of faculty @ DoMS. Another flavour to this ice cream is the lowest fees and hence one of the best ROI’s in India.

The first day and especially the first dinner party will be treasured in the abyss of my heart. May be i can call it the first event management opportunity that we received. Yes for some friends it was live event management. How is that you may ask.. talking to people in tamil which is greek to you and getting burgers, chicken, gobi manchs, and soft drinks was really the first live experience for some of us.(please control your appetite)

I am writing this post immediately after a fun packed session of FIRM games. I was really thrilled during some of the moments in the game. Well I will have to control my excitement as I will be having innumerable such moments, which I will be cherishing in my life. How can I mention about everything else and leave my beloved seniors. Our seniors are really awesome. They are down to earth and lend helping hand whenever and wherever possible. They have already passed the baton to us and let me assure our seniors, on behalf of the 2010-2012 batch, that we will rock DoMS-NITT and that we will definitely raise the bar which you have set and surge ahead.

So finally let me boil down to the purpose of this blog. This blog will be a chronicle for the activities, guest lectures, fun and obviously hot and interesting topics from the inhouse writers, editors, researchers and at large the business graduates @ DoMS-NITT.

Welcome to our blog. And Happy Reading.

One thought on “The Brand “DoMS-NITT”

  1. vivek A says:

    jinson.. a proper justification to your marketing classes…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

